Full Frame Nightsky

Full Frame Night Sky

I am still doing some experimenting and learning a lot with the new iOptron Skytracker. I am a firm believer in Full Frame sensors for resolution and low noise at high ISO and long exposure. I am not going to make this a discussion about why though. I can zoom in to 100% and see the difference. The results using FF last night were great and horrible at the same time. The first exposure using the D-800 and the Tamron SP 15-30mm at 455 seconds was incredible, not so much when I made an adjustment in the angle I was shooting and did a 32 minute exposure. I apparently moved off of Polaris and got some considerable streaking. The setup was so large it blocks my alignment scope and shame on me for just assuming I was aligned properly. Oh well, a lesson learned.

I may try the Sony a7R and some stacking tonight.

Tamron SP 15-30mm f2.8 Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-800, Manual Mode, f5.6, Bulb setting for 455 seconds, ISO 1600, Sirui R4214X tripod and iOptron Skytracker base, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.

Milky Way 090715a copy

Leave a Reply

