That’s not possible with an “All-in-One” lens!

That’s not possible with an All-in-One lens!

I am involved in forums and other avenues of social media and one thing I hear often is “you can’t do that with an All-in-One lens” or “that’s not possible with an All-in-One” lens. My response is always the same…sure it is. Older lenses with an extreme zoom range used to be heavy, slow and fairly bulky, but in the last 5 or so years, especially the past 2, things have changed drastically. I leave my Tamron 16-300mm Di-II VC PZD lens on my APS-C bodies and the Tamron 28-300mm Di VC PZD on my Nikon D-800 when I am just walking around. I will only change them for specific needs. When we did our Gibbs Gardens Waterlily Workshop last week, I only used the Tamron 28-300mm lens on my Nikon D-800. I had the confidence it would produce images that I wanted and would be very happy with the results. My friend and fellow Tamron Image Master, Mike Moats, is almost exclusive to using an “All-in-One” lens and produces incredible images. Tamron doesn’t make our lenses any better than what anyone else buys, we simply practice good technique when shooting. A lens with high quality glass is only as good as the technique used when capturing the image. Bring your technique to the level of the glass and you will see an “All-in-One” lens is a fantastic option for your bag.

Tamron 28-300mm Di VC PZD lens(all 3.9 inches and 19ounces of it) on a Nikon D-800, Aperture Priority, f16, -1.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/3rd of a second, Sirui R4214X tripod and K40X ballhead, Marumi 67mm Circular Polarizer, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro 500AW photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.

Gibbs Gardens Waterlily 082715h copy

8 Responses to “That’s not possible with an “All-in-One” lens!”

  1. WillAM Photography Says:

    Love this

  2. As an avid fan of the older Tamron 18-270 lens, I’m so happy to see this post. So often, at photo club events, I hear that old refrain…’But you’re not using a fixed lens?!’. Sometimes, yes…most of the time, no. 🙂

  3. I also have my Tamron 18-270mm Di II VC PZD “glued” to my lens almost all the time… Except when I’m shooting indoor parties at night where I use my Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC snce I don’t want to use flash as much as possible… 🙂

Leave a Reply

