A Compositional Trifecta!

A Compositional Trifecta.

I wrote yesterday about the need to shoot a vertical and horizontal of scenes. This was one of my favorite compositions from our shoot last week. What I really liked about the vertical was it allows the viewer to focus on the river and the falls vs the foliage around it. I positioned myself so I had the upper falls in the frame fairly clear of obstructions, then used the larger white area to take the viewer out of the frame but lead them in as well. I included just enough of the river in the middle area to keep a smooth flow (pun intended) visually. The flowing river becomes my subject and leading line and completes a “C” curve as well. Sort of the compositional trifecta!

Tamron SP 15-30mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-800, Aperture Priority, f16, -1 stop of exposure compensation, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of 3 seconds, Sirui R4214X tripod and K40X ballhead, Fotodiox 145mm Circular Polarizer, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro Flipside 500AW photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.

Anna Ruby Falls 082815b copy

Leave a Reply

