The Perfect Landscape Combination!

The Perfect Landscape Combination!

The sharpest combination I have ever used for landscape photography has to be the Tamron SP 15-30mm f2.8 Di VC USD lens, the Nikon D-800, and the Sirui R4214X tripod and K40X ballhead. When I say that, I truly believe that in years to come there is a possibility that technology could improve even more. I will also state that in probability the D-810 is sharper or even the Sony a7Rii, but I don’t own either so my statement of “I have ever used” stands.There may be substitutes for a sharper body but not for a lens. I have been a professional photographer for over 20 years now and I have shot many lenses, I have never seen the sharpness I can achieve with this lens in any other lens before. I felt the need to add that an important component in the equation is the Sirui R4214X tripod.

When photographing rivers and falls, often I am standing in water or on something less than stable. The other day I posted images of Minnehaha Falls of which I was standing in the river with water flowing around the legs of the tripod. This image I am on a bridge that crosses the river with anchor post in the river. I have shot many images from the bridge that even with a tripod show vibration, not this one. The footprint of the tripod makes for a sturdy base in any condition!

I can not say enough about the sharpness of the lens. Zooming in to pixel level on the computer is a joy to see details like a single leaf 30 feet away! The range of 15-30mm is closest to what I see when I compose a landscape image. I love using a wide angle lens to gather objects from the area to use in my compositions. This lens allows me to do it while maintaining tack sharp focus. I believe this to be my favorite landscape lens of all time!

Tamron SP 15-30mm f2.8 Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-800, Aperture Priority, f16, -1 stop exposure compensation, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of 3 seconds, Sirui R4214X tripod and K40X ballhead, Fotodiox 145mm Circular Polarizer, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro Flipside 500AW, processed in Lightroom CC.

Anna Ruby Falls 082815e copy

Leave a Reply

