“Speedy”

“Speedy”

When I was a kid getting older, notice I didn’t say growing up that is up for debate, I lived near a lake in Dekalb County, GA. I spent many, many an hour fishing, digging and exploring that lake and it’s surroundings. My love and appreciation for the outdoors is still a huge part of my life now. I still spend a lot of time digging in the leaves and woods looking for “stuff”. About 2 weeks ago I spotted an Eastern Box Turtle on the hill in front of my office windows. A couple of days later it was zipping across the driveway. I decided I had to get a few shots of my speedy friend before he, and it is a he, notice the red eyes which the males have, disappeared into the woods. I decided that this guy was meant to be a part of Bear Woods when I saw his markings on the shell resembled “bear paws”. Is it just a coincidence? I think not!

And to settle the debate. I have grown older but I have never grown up. And I plan to keep it that way.

Both images were made using the Tamron 16-300mm Di-II VC PZD lens on a Canon 7Dii, f8, +0 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 1600, Sirui P204S monopod and L10 head, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.

Eastern Box Turtle M 081115a copy

Eastern Box Turtle M 081115b copy

Leave a Reply

