Raising a second brood

Raising a second brood.

A week ago the Eastern Bluebird eggs hatched. Using a mirror on a stick, I checked and at least 4 of the 5 eggs hatched. I do very little photography during the first few days so stress is reduced on the birds. During those first days, usually about 4 or 5, the hatchlings are developing their feathers and are reliant on the mother to keep them warm. We had some cooler days and I didn’t want the mom to leave the box unless she chose to do so, not that I force them out anyway. After they develop the ability to keep themselves warm, they start to vocalize more too. I will sit on the porch during the first few days and then move a little to set up my camera. If the birds show any stress I back up. These guys have acclimated to me sitting about 10-12 feet away and not alter their actions at all. I don’t even use a blind anymore. I sit by the vegetable garden and shoot. I have even had the juveniles from the first brood, come in and get fairly close as well. The safety and well being of the birds trumps the desire to get images every day.

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7D, Aperture Priority, f6.3, -0 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 400, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/400th of a second, Sirui P204S Monopod and L10 head, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.

Eastern Bluebird 070615c copy

Leave a Reply

