Waterlily season is upon us!

Waterlily season is upon us.

I had a couple of hours to spare yesterday, so I went down to Gibbs Gardens to check out the waterlily. With all the warm weather we have been having I figured they would be blooming nicely, and I was right. There are a good number blooming and lots more on the way. I decided to try the Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens as my “macro” lens as well. With a minimum focusing distance of about 9 feet, it does a great job!

Don’t forget that Cecil Holmes and I are going to be doing a Waterlily Workshop at Gibbs Gardens on August 27th. It is a little more than 1/3rd of the way full at this time. $89 – includes entry fee and lunch! Here is a link: http://www.natureinfocusworkshops.com/photo-workshops/gibbs-gardens-waterlily-workshop-august-27-2015

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-800, Aperture Priority, f16, -1 stop of exposure compensation, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/80th of a second, Sirui R4214X tripod and K40X ballhead, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.

Waterlily 070115b copy

4 Responses to “Waterlily season is upon us!”

  1. Those Water lilies are beautiful. Great photo😊

  2. How I wish I could zip down to Georgia for your class! I love water lilies, but the ponds in our area are so big, the lilies are far beyond good focal points.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Some day we will get you down here! The distance to the waterlily was one of the reasons I chose the long lens yesterday. A 200mm just wasn’t going to give me the compositions I wanted.

Leave a Reply

