Testing the wings.

Testing the Wings.

This was the last of the Osprey chicks to fledge. I didn’t see her fledge, but the other 2 already had so that leads me to that conclusion. She was very amusing to watch, she would fly up a couple of feet, hover for 5-10 seconds, land, go to the edge of the nest and stare at the water below. It really looked like a kid who was wanting to jump off the diving board but just couldn’t get the courage up to do it. I did learn something new from my friend Max on Sunday. The female Osprey have a dark “necklace”. Thanks Max for the tip. I am pretty good at identifying birds and know a good bit about them, but it is always great to shoot with people who know a lot about individual species as well.

During this image I also really noticed the difference in the Sirui PH20 gimbal head vs the Wemberley, I had used for so many years. The Sirui was so smooth in it’s movement and swing as I tracked the bird up and down, left and right. The knob that is used to tighten the movement only required a slight turn vs. much more then I had been used to prior. I am so loving this Sirui gear.

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-7200, Aperture Priority, f11, +.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 400, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/400th of a second, Sirui R4214X tripod and PH20 Gimbal head, Peak Design Leash, processed in Lightroom CC.

Osprey 062815h copy

Leave a Reply

