Carter’s Lake Osprey Update

Carter’s Lake Osprey Update

It was very hot yesterday but in a last minute decision, I decided to go out and check on the Osprey at Carter’s Lake and scout for some kayak launching areas. Did I mention it was hot? After parking and hiking out the 1/3 mile or so, I settled in for about an hour and did a few pics. I only saw the one adult with them and they flew out and back a few times. It would dip down and cool off before either perching in a tree on the far shore or in the nest. I was glad to see 3 very healthy looking chicks in the nest. The chicks have these great orange eyes. After my hour was up I left and hiked back to the car. Did I mention it was hot?

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 70D, Aperture Priority, f8, -.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 800, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/800th of a second, Sirui P204S monopod and L10 head, Peak Design Leash, processed in Lightroom CC.

Osprey 061415e copy

Leave a Reply

