Retzer Nature Center

Retzer Nature Center

Sorry I did not get to post yesterday. I was up really early to drive down to the airport to head to Wisconsin for the workshop with Art’s Cameras and the Big Cat Rescue. The event there is Saturday, but I am giving 3 lectures on Wildlife Photography today and tomorrow. In my downtime I could just do nothing or I could hit some of the local spots for birds and such.

Yesterday afternoon, after visiting the two Art’s Cameras locations I checked into my hotel and headed over to Retzers Nature Center. What an absolutely incredible place. It is mainly open prairie with some wooded areas around it. It is loaded with songbirds and a few Sandhill Cranes too. As you drive into the center, there is an area with cattails and of course Red-winged Blackbirds. They are fun to photograph laying claim to their territories. They may fly off at first but they will return to “their” perch soon. I did a lot of images of this guy! Beautiful birds!

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-7200, Aperture Priority, f8, -0 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 800, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/500th of a second, Sirui P204S monopod with L10 head, processed in Lightroom CC.

Redwinged Blackbird 060315d copy

2 Responses to “Retzer Nature Center”

  1. Fabulously composed… I’m also using Tamron lens on my Canon and I find it capturing colors so vividly. And the best thing I like about Tamron, they’re lighter compared to my Canon lens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

