Mute Swan

Mute Swan.

I didn’t post yesterday because I had gotten up early to go photograph the Eagles at Berry College in Rome, GA. I also got to meet up with Cecil Holmes, who celebrated a birthday yesterday. Cecil is my co-leader on many of the workshops we do. Check out his work. Anyway, this was one of the best images I got during my trip. I know, funny looking Eagle, but the Eagles did not visit the nest while I was there which was roughly 8 hours. They are really pushing for the Eaglettes, B4 and B5, to leave the nest and start the field training. We drove around a little and went back to the pond with the Mute Swan at the back of the campus. Such a beautiful bird! What is amazing about the shot is this: handheld at 600mm and 1/80th of a second!!! This is not credit to my rock steady hands but instead to Tamron’s Vibration Compensation system!

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7D, at 600mm (960mm equivalent with APS-C sensor after 1.6x crop facctor), Aperture Priority, f7.1, +0 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 400, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/80th of a second, processed in Lightroom CC.

Mute Swan 050615a copy

Leave a Reply

