Elk, Land Between the Lakes, Kentucky

Elk, Land Between the Lakes.

Okay, this place has to be the best kept secret ever! I was on my way to St. Louis for Shutterfest 2015 and needed to stretch my legs. I stopped at the Kentucky Visitor’s Center and was looking at the map. I saw a place called Land Between the Lakes and a road up the middle named the Trace. I was ahead of schedule so I said, “what the hey”. As I approached the road I saw 3 elk on my right and a Bald Eagle eating something on the side of the road. I knew I had chosen the right side track! When I turned on the road a sign said something about Elk and Bison. I had been up since 3a.m. but took a chance. All I can say is WOW! This is a place to visit if you have never been. Elk and Bison everywhere.

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-800, Aperture Priority, f8, -.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 400, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/60th of a second, handheld utilizing the VC feature of the lens, processed in Lightroom 5.

Elk LBL 040615c copy

Leave a Reply

