You could just tell…

You could just tell…

As I was driving down to Gibbs Gardens yesterday the clouds were at about 2800 feet. How do I know that? I live at about 2800 feet and they were just above the house! I could see some color on the horizon so I knew it could be one of those “epic” sunrises as the hipsters would say. I am very fortunate to be one of two official photographers for the gardens so I have access to the gardens before the public. This is my pay for the images I do for them for their advertising and marketing. I walked quickly to the Gazebo and waited. It did not disappoint. When I started my day with this I knew it was going to be an incredible day.

Tamron SP 24-70mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-800, Aperture Priority, f11, +0 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of .8 seconds, Marumi Circular Polarizer set to maximize reflection on the water, Vanguard tripod, processed in Lightroom 5.

Gibbs Gardens 032115a copy

5 Responses to “You could just tell…”

  1. fairytale 🙂

  2. Love your site…beautiful photos and helpful info! Could the gazebo be tilted to the right in this photo or does it just look that way maybe because of the sloping bank?

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      It looked like it to me as well when I was making the image. I use a bubble level and the virtual horizon in camera. They both said it’s straight. I haven’t figured out why it appears like that yet. It could be the shadow or the bank. I actually contemplated tilting it because it appears tilted to me.

  3. I honestly just love the lighting of the photo. The sky looks so vibrant, but also very calm. I really enjoy the reflection in the water too. Beautiful shot.

Leave a Reply

