How do they do it?

How do they do it?

I know the science behind down feathers and it keeping birds warm and all, but still how do they do it? This is a Dark-eyed Junco in the snow the other day. You can see snow on the beak and pelting it as it sits. I go outside for 30 minutes, and believe me I have insulation, I am ready to come in! I do love the snow though, within reason I guess, and the photographic opportunities it offers. I think this storm I went through about 20 pounds of black oil sunflower seeds keeping the birds fed so far. It is supposed to warm up this week so maybe it will give these guys a break.

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-800, Aperture Priority, f8, -.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 1600, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/100th of a second, Vanguard Abeo Plus tripod and Wimberley head, processed in Lightroom 5.

Darkeyed Junco 022515b copy

Leave a Reply

