My Fisheye Friday

My Fisheye Friday.

I have a bold statement to make: “There is no such thing as a photo purist” That’s right we all manipulate images. In this case it is a lens. The simple fact we are taking a world all around us and singling out something with lens selection is manipulation. Lensbaby makes lenses that really don’t fit into the mold of traditional lenses. They embrace flare, distortion and even some that show glow around the subjects. They are specialty lenses that are super creative and fun. They also will challenge you to see differently. I wrote an article about that subject a couple of years ago for Nature Photographer​ magazine. For me they are an additional tool I like to have in my bag to help me express my creativity and art.

All that being said, I just received my 5.8mm Fisheye lens for the Sony E mount, in this image it is mounted to my Sony NEX-7. Fisheye lenses show a whole lot of an area. This is my driveway yesterday in the snow. A Fisheye lens works best when you have a lot of information you want to include but a center of focus that is necessary for the image to be successful. I can tell I am going to have a lot of fun with this lens!

LFE 022615a copy

2 Responses to “My Fisheye Friday”

  1. Nice photo! What a great idea, Fisheye Friday, I’ll tag mine (today ;)!

  2. lilybug1960 Says:

    LOL! I can’t take credit it for the phrase, it is a Lensbaby thing. But it is catchy!

Leave a Reply

