Looking for Love(joy)…the comet…

Looking for Love(joy) in all the right places…

I know you are saying, what the…? I found out there is a comet in them there skies right now. No, it is not the moon. It is the Comet Lovejoy, named after a dude in Australia who found it. While I was looking for it, I decided to do a few shots of the beautiful full moon. I did find the comet too! It is just below (S to SE) of Orion for the next two days moving away from Orion later in the month. I could not see a tail, but I had a slight haze up here on the mountain. It appears as a green vapor blob with a point in the middle. The blob is faint but easily spotted with binoculars. I will try and get a shot of it tonight or the next night when it is at it’s closest point to Earth.

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Sony NEX-7 via the Novoflex adapter, Manual mode, f11, 1/200th of a second, ISO 800, Vanguard Abeo Plus tripod, processed in Lightroom 5.

Full Moon 010515a copy

Leave a Reply

