The Apalachicola Barber Shop is still in business!

The Apalachicola Barber Shop.

One of my favorite places to shoot in Apalachicola, as well as a favorite among my workshop participants, is the old Barber Shop on 98. The roof paint is peeling, most things have been there for many, many years and not moved, but it is always great to see a piece of history. I couldn’t help but chuckle when another photographer hosting a workshop couldn’t understand why we liked to photograph it when it was closed…because it looks good?

Tamron SP 24-70mm f2.8 Di VC USD lens on a Sony a7R, Aperture Priority, f11, +1 stop of exposure compensation, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of 30 seconds, Vanguard Alta Pro tripod and BBH-200 head, processed in Lightroom 5, converted to B&W using Topaz BW Effects 2.

Barber Shop 110514b copy

4 Responses to “The Apalachicola Barber Shop is still in business!”

  1. I just walked in this shop Friday the 26th of December 2014.. laurence was cutting away and asked me if I was ready for my cut, I said no just stoped in to see the old shop. when he responded I will sell it to you anything in the place im closing the doors tomorrow,so the conversation flew for a moment and before I knew it I owned a barbers work station from 1900, what a piece of history it has been sitting in the same place for well over 100 years,it is a truly amazing piece I feel very privledged to have meet laurence and his family.thanks for posting the photos.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Wow! I am happy that he will enjoy life and you got a great piece of history. It will be sad to see him go though, that is such a great place!

  2. Rick free Says:

    Does anyone have a photo of Jackson c. Wages cutting hair His great great granddaughter would like some

Leave a Reply

