Cardinal Flower

Cardinal Flower.

One of my favorite times to visit Cades Cove and the Great Smoky Mountains is late August. Most people, myself included go to see the huge deer bucks with velvet covering their antlers, the bears feeding on wild cherries and the wildflowers. My favorite this time of year is the Cardinal Flower. They are found along the creek beds and stand out due to their brilliant color. I find them mixed in often with Jewelweed and other wildflowers. When photographing them I try to position myself so that the red is contrasted against a green background. That contrast to me is almost magical for composition.

Tamron SP 180mm f3.5 Di Macro lens on a Sony a7R, Aperture Priority, f11, -.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 800, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/60th of a second(there was a slight breeze), Vanguard Abeo Pro tripod and BBH-200 head, processed in Lightroom 5.

GSMNP 082114zh copy

Leave a Reply

