The Balance of Nature

When I look at the white waterlilies, it always makes me think about the balance in nature. I think about the strength of a tornado, or hurricane, or typhoons and the ability to move objects and even land. Then I look at the delicate components inside the waterlily and how it is just this that attracts bees and butterflies to pollinate the flower to carry on with life. I know, I am over thinking it…or am I?

I chose a very simple symmetrical composition, meaning there is balance from left to right, top to bottom, I am not creating the tension that an asymmetrical composition will do to an image. It is designed to relax the viewer. Back to that whole delicate nature of the flower…

Tamron 16-300mm Di-II VC PZD Macro lens on a Canon 7D, Aperture Priority, f16, -.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/3rd of a second, Vanguard Abeo Pro tripod and BBH-200 head, Marumi Circular Polarizer, processed in Lightroom 5, photographed at Gibbs Gardens.

Waterlily 080714k copy

Leave a Reply

