Put yourself in the right place…

Yesterday I touched on the idea of “putting yourself in the right place at the right time.”  As a nature photographer there are many aspects of that statement that ring true.  If you are photographing  birds, you should learn bird behavior and territories of birds.  For wildlife, you should learn the behavior and the right way to approach wildlife, along with the safe distances to photograph from.  This is true for scenic “event” photography as well.  In this case a rainbow.  Years ago I was very fortunate to call Galen Rowell a friend.  I listened intently, almost like a sponge in water, to everything he said about light.  There are not many people who understood dramatic light like Galen did.  On a particular day in the Rocky Mountains we drove into a rain shower.  Galen told me to speed up and see if we could get to the other side.  I simply thought he wasn’t fond of rain possibly.  As we drove through the last of the rain the sun had burst through the clouds and was almost blinding.  He said pull over when you can, so I found a turnout and parked.  As we got out he was explaining to me that there should be a rainbow behind us this side of the shower.  There was and it was incredible.

I thought about this many times while at different locations, waiting and hoping.  Last week on my way to Gibbs Gardens it started to cloud up and rain just as I drove in the gate.  I could still see the sun rising to the east.  I parked and grabbed my gear, which I always make sure is ready before I get into the car, and started walking down the path.  It was still raining a bit but not a soaking rain.  As I got to the first pond I looked behind me and saw a rainbow.  I thought to myself that I would love to have an image with a rainbow ending on Monet’s Bridge.  I ran down the trail past the workers, who already believe I am insane, and set up with the bridge in the foreground and the rainbow stretched out above.  Was I simply in the right place at the right time?  No, I put myself there to take advantage of a great situation.

Fuji X-E1, 14mm lens, Aperture Priority, f16, ISO 200, -2 stops of exposure compensation, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/20th of a second, Marumi Circular Polarizer adjusted to enhance the rainbow, Vanguard Alta Pro tripod and BBH head.

Rainbow Gibbs Gardens 082213a copy

One Response to “Put yourself in the right place…”

  1. Reblogged this on Vivianmiller's Blog and commented:
    Beauty

Leave a Reply

